Anoka County DWI Lawyer
Underage DWI is very serious because it involves a person under 21 years of age drinking and driving. Because it is both illegal to drink when under the legal drinking age and drive under the influence of alcohol, the consequences are serious. Fines and license suspension are just two of the penalties that can result, in addition to having a criminal record.
If you have been accused of underage DWI or you are the parent of a child that has been accused of drinking and driving, you have the right to acquire the assistance of an experienced Anoka DWI lawyer. Your attorney will be able to look at the arrest and other factors in order to secure the best possible result in the case.
Guiding You Through The Process
The underage DWI process can be different. Vanessa’s Law is the reason why. This law, named after Vanessa Weiss who was killed in a drunk driving accident in 2004 when an underage driver was behind the wheel, is designed to ensure specific penalties in such cases. For instance:
- An underage driver convicted of underage DWI cannot get their license until they are 18 years old.
- In order to reinstate their driver’s license, they must pay $680 in fines.
- The DWI driver’s examination must be passed
- A driver’s education class must be completed
- A driving permit must be held for three months before taking the full test
- The judge must impose additional penalties, depending on the severity of the case
The main purpose behind Vanessa’s Law is to discourage underage drivers from driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Because Minnesota is a zero-tolerance state, individuals under the age of 21 must not drive if they have been drinking because of the “Not a Drop Law.”
Dedicated To Achieving The Best Results
It is important that you have the representation you need by an experienced Minnesota DWI lawyer because this can be the difference between the maximum penalties and lesser penalties. Some defendants are surprised when they find that the charges can be reduced or that there are factors present in their case that leads to acquittal. There are times when a person may not be drinking or driving at all, but they may have taken medication containing a small amount of alcohol. Under the “Not a Drop Law,” that medication could result in a DWI arrest. The good news is that the charge can be successfully challenged.