Anoka Criminal Lawyer & Attorney
If you are arrested for DWI, the state has the right to take the license plates on your vehicle if certain circumstances exist. This is called “license plate impoundment” and it is a penalty that individuals pay when they have been charged with DWI.
When license plates are impounded, they can be impounded at the time of arrest by the police officer who is acting on behalf of the Commissioner of Public Safety. A judge can also decide to impound plates at some point. Usually, this is what occurs when there have been two or more DWIs within a 10 year period, when the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .16 or above, or when there is a minor in the vehicle at the time of the offense.
If you have been charged with DWI and/or your plates have been impounded, you have the right to defend yourself with the help of an Anoka DWI attorney who has a great deal of experience in DWI law. With the proper representation by your side, you can obtain the best possible result in your case.
Helping You Understand Your Rights
Plate impoundment is a rather quick process due to the fact the arresting officer can confiscate the plates. When the officer issues the impoundment order, he or she will also issue a permit that temporarily licenses the vehicle. This will only be in effect for 7 days if the person charged with DWI is the vehicle owner. It will be in effect for 45 days if someone else owns the vehicle. The impoundment order also applies to every vehicle that the accused owns. This can affect anyone else who drives the vehicles.
If you wish to challenge plate impoundment, you can request a judicial review. The purpose of the judicial review is for you to explain why the plate impoundment should be reversed. Your Anoka DWI lawyer can help you through this process so that you know it is done right and that you are getting the best chance toward plate impoundment reversal.
Quality DWI Representation
In Minnesota, impounded license plates are frequently called “whiskey plates.” They are the temporary license plates that can be granted along with the limited driver’s license after a person is allowed to receive them. These plates have specific letters on them and tend to start with the letter “W,” which is how they earned their name and how law enforcement recognizes them. The whiskey plates remain in place until a person is eligible to apply for permanent plates.
With the help of your Minnesota DWI attorney, it is possible to avoid having to have whiskey plates if the charges are reduced or dismissed. Even when there is merit to the charges, there may be an element of the arrest process that doesn’t warrant the charge.